New Repertoire Recommendation – Jackson Berkey

Our local teachers association runs a Multiple Piano Festival each year, which features duet and ensemble music played by up to 36 students at a time on 12 grand pianos.

This year our older group is performing “Hosanna Down” by composer Jackson Berkey. I reached out to Mr. Berkey to request permission to use our performance of his piece in a DVD. He was very gracious and happy to allow us to do so.

And…he sent me a big stack of duet and solo piano music and recordings to peruse. This is like Christmas for someone like me! I have enjoyed the past week so much listening to Mr. Berkey’s music.

I highly recommend getting acquainted with his works if you are not already. His pieces are beautiful and varied – at times haunting, rhythmic, lyrical, contemplative, dancing, imaginative…He has a huge output of works, not only for piano – his piano works are mainly for advanced musicians.

What a fun surprise to receive this collection of music – it’s been an even better surprise to discover a new composer whose works I love!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.