Happies, July 2017

20170725_094805It’s been a beautiful summer with beautiful things happening in the studio! Here are a few things that made my happy this month:

  1. The “secret garden” outside of my studio window is in full bloom.
  2. The shimmer of aspen trees outside my studio window provide beautiful accompaniment to our piano music.
  3. 6 year old student: “I smiled at your dog and she smiled back at me!”
  4. A student has been working on “Simple Gifts”, a piece which was played in our wedding. The student played the completed, polished piece in a lesson which happened to take place on our nineteenth wedding anniversary, July 25. It felt like the sweetest anniversary gift!
  5. New student learning “Old MacDonald” in Faber Primer Lesson book came to his lesson, sat at the piano, set up his fingers on the black keys, turned his face away and played the piece looking the opposite direction. He was so excited to surprise me with his trick!
  6. I was waxing eloquent as I related the facts of Haydn’s life to an eight-year-old student. I included exciting details such as Haydn living in a real castle, composing music for a real-live prince and for real kings and queens who came to visit. The student nodded with bright eyes. I was sure I was igniting his imagination and creating enthusiasm for the next piece he would learn by Haydn. The student responds by asking: “Yes, but do you know about the Emoji movie?” 🙂
  7. After offering a prize to a student who had practiced every day for three weeks: “Maybe I should have two.” 🙂
  8. A mother emailed to describe her children practicing at home: “Thank you for being such a great teacher!  My kids all love going to piano. Eddy is cracking me up…everybody else when they were starting would get frustrated when they’d make a mistake,  but Eddy just keeps saying “I’m getting so good!”
    So thank you!”
Leave a Reply

