Wall of Wow Evaluation

At the beginning of the fall 2013 semester, I started a studio-wide incentive called the Wall of Wow. Basically it involved hanging up a little tag on the wall with the title of each completed piece and the student’s initials. Each student was given a tag to hang up at the completion of each piece throughout the fall and spring semesters (August – May). You can read more about this incentive here.

I have to say this little incentive worked wonders this year. The students were so excited to see the progress that was made each week on our wall. They loved seeing each other’s progress and how the wall was filling up with completed pieces. I love the sense of community this provided to our group of pianists.

At the last lesson of the semester, I had each student remove their tags from the wall and place them onto a piece of card stock, which was punched with holes to fit inside their three-ring binder. We counted up the pieces they completed and took a picture with their paper-filled with tags.

I’m not sure I will be repeating this incentive again next year because I like to try new things each year. But when I asked some of the students if they would like to fill out tags again next year, they all were enthusiastically positive in their responses. I think that’s a good sign. 🙂 So I will definitely be doing something along these lines next year – to create community within the studio and have a visible, tangible representation of all that was accomplished throughout the year.

This is the Wall of Wow at the end of the spring semester in my home studio:

Piano 065

Piano 071

 

 

This is the Wall of Wow at the end of the year in the school where I provide piano lessons:Piano 094Aren’t these kiddos cute? 🙂 By the way, I ended up teaching approximately 1,465 pieces to 42 students throughout the year. My nerdy side is happy. 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Wall of Wow Evaluation

  1. Hi! I really like this idea of the Wall of Wow! My questions: Were these “tags” pre-made or did you cut them out? How did you stick them on the wall so they stayed and didn’t peel the paint off at the end of the year? Thanks so much for this clever idea. I would like to adapt this to my studio this year.
    Cherisse

    • Hi Cherisse,

      Thanks for your questions! I used a box of pre-cut tags that I purchased in the scrapbook section of a craft store. I highly recommend using the pre-cut tags! 🙂 I used Scotch double-sided tape to stick them to the wall, and I didn’t have any trouble with them falling off or peeling off the paint.

      I hope your students enjoy this reward system. Have a great year teaching!

  2. Pingback: Practice Challenge | the view from my studio

  3. Did you give out any kind of prizes? I see from other years that you have given out prizes for certain accomplishments. I have done that as well so was wondering how the students would react to a year of no prizes.

    • Hi Diana,
      Thanks for your question. The year I ran the “Wall of Wow” challenge I did not give out prizes. The year previous I did not hand out prizes either, so the students were not expecting them. Only in the past few years have I been giving out prizes.

Leave a Reply

